Skip to content
Keywords e.g. warehousing
Qualification Code e.g. 600/5640/X
Keywords e.g. warehousing
Unit Code e.g. Y/505/4889
Open Awards Unit ID e.g. CBF498
Keywords e.g. warehousing
Open Awards Unit Code e.g. UA33ART12
Open Awards Unit ID e.g. CBF521

Amazing Access Students Achievements Commended at National Awards

Amazing Access Students Achievements Commended at National Awards

Six Access to HE Diploma students were presented with awards for Outstanding Commitment to Study and Outstanding Academic Achievement at the Keith Fletcher Memorial Access to HE Student Prizes at The Palace of Westminster on Tuesday 22 March 2016.

Nic Dakin, MP (Shadow Minister, Education) hosted the event and praised all Access to HE students, he said, “Each Access student’s story is unique, but has echoes of others’ stories. Everybody studying Access to HE is a winner.”

The nominator’s for each of the prize winners introduced their student and the overwhelming theme was how these exceptional students not only demonstrated a strong academic ability but the support they showed to their peers throughout the course.

David Gittins, CEO of Laser Learning Awards, who co-ordinate the prize judging and event, paid tribute to the families and friends of Access students and the support they give to students whilst they complete their studies

Outstanding Commitment to Study

Winner:          Dylan England, East Surrey College, Laser Learning Awards

Runner-up:    Sudhuf Khan, Cardiff & Vale College, Agored Cymru

Runner-up:    Graham Honeybourne, Weston College, AptEd Awards


Outstanding Academic Achievement

Winner:          Jamie Allington, City College of Brighton and Hove, Laser Learning Awards Runner-up:    Fiona Burger, Coleg Cambria, Agored Cymru

Runner-up:    Ian Carr, Tyne Metropolitan College, One Awards

The winners were presented with their certificates and cash prize in the Jubilee Room in the Palace of Westminster, they were then given a tour including a chance to enter the House of Lords. After a light lunch attendees were able to watch a debate in the House of Commons from the public gallery.

Nominations are received from Access Validating Agencies (AVAs) across England and Wales and are judged by a panel drawn from each AVA. The winner in each category received £500 and the two runners-up £350 each.


Leave a Comment

* Indicates fields are required

Your name
Your email address