Skip to content

Open Awards Level 2 Award in Food Safety in Catering (RQF)


The Open Awards Level 2 Award in Food Safety has been designed to prepare you for employment in settings where food is prepared and served. The content is based on the National Occupational Standards (NOS) for food safety in a catering environment and recommendations of good practice outlined by the Food Standards Agency, so through achieving this qualification you, and any employer, can evidence that you have met the legal training requirements in food safety.

Rules of Combination

To achieve the qualification learners successfully achieve the single mandatory unit

Credit Value of the Qualification:


Minimum Credits to be achieved at the Level of the Qualification:


Mandatory Units A:

1 credit to be achieved

This qualification is assessed by a single online multiple choice assessment comprising 30 questions, which is externally set and marked by Open Awards. To view the sample assessment, please click here.

For XAMS guidance for Multiple Choice Assessments, please click here

PDF Documents

Download Qualification Guide

Unit Information

Unit Code T/615/5478

Open Awards Unit ID CBI503 (1386503)


7.4 Hospitality and Catering

Credit Value

Unit Content
Download PDF